District Council


The Heartland District Council meets the third Saturday of every month to oversee programs and assistance offered by the District. 

The Council also serves as a central contact point for networking within the District and supports and encourages networking opportunities for congregations and clergy.

The council is comprised of both lay snd clergy and represent our congregations from a wide area of the District.

Ministries overseen by the Council include Women of the Word, Neighborhood Groups, Mission Support, Conflict Resolution, Seminarian Scholarships, and Clergy Certification and Call Process.

District Service Coordinator

This position is vacant

District Council President & Webmaster

Rev. Jan Gluth King

  Send Email

Bethel Lutheran Church - Holdrege, NE

2nd Term Ends: 2024

District Council Vice President

Rev. Phillip Nielsen

Immanuel Lutheran Church - Harlan, IA

2nd Term Ends: 2024

District Council Secretary

Rev. Cindy Cone

Christ the Servant Lutheran Church - Norfolk, NE

2nd Term Ends: 2024

Pastoral Advisor to Heartland District Women of the Word


Sherry Hartwig

Barb Jacobsen

Our Savior's Lutheran Church - Audubon, IA

1st Term Ends: 2024

Rev. Bob Sinclair

St. John's Lutheran Church - Athol, Kansas

1st Term expires 2025

Rev. Leah Krotz

Trinity Lutheran - Bruning, Nebraska

1st Term expires 2025

Marilyn Schlake

1st term expires 2026

Barry Eldad

1st term expires 2025